Setting up RMAN Jobs on OEM12C

Posted: April 10, 2014 in Backup and Recovery, OEM12c
Tags: ,

I recently added this blog page to my resume so I need to look a little busier on this page…

I have been meaning to blog/brag about OEM12C some more. This tool has really changed my work/life balance. In other words, I now have time to live outside of work a bit.

One of the major time savers has been setting up and scheduling my RMAN jobs with OEM12C. The process took a few days to set up but I can now say with confidence that all of my backups are managed through the GUI.

  • Determine your backup strategy: This should go without saying but I believe there is a tendency with tools to just jump in feet first and start pushing buttons. I don’t recommend this approach. Think first, then start working. I created a configuration script that set up my RMAN configuration such as retention policy, controlfile policies, device type, etc… Oracle Documentation has some great tips if you are unsure how to determine your backup strategy and policy settings.
  • Determine your backup schedule: It is recommended that Backups be run during off hours. In this day and age of global coverage, your organization may not have any off hours. In my employer’s case, there is a major data transfer/data warehouse job that runs daily during off hours. So I studied the production support team’s job scheduler and created a spreadsheet for running RMAN jobs so that they would be run during the lowest possible traffic times.
  • Once I was ready to go, I informed production support to cancel all current backup jobs. It’s my baby now!
  • Now you should be ready to open OEM12C and get started. I set up my schedule one database at a time. I opened up one of my test databases and clicked on the Availability drop down, opened up Backup and Recovery and clicked on Schedule Backup.
  • From the Schedule Backup page, you have several options. I chose to create a Customized Backup because I already know my strategy and my schedule. I also put together custom scripts to run my Incremental Level Zero, Incremental Level One, Archive Log Backups and my Crosscheck All jobs.
  • From the Customized Backup page, I chose Whole Database and Schedule Customized Backup. If you intend to insert a custom RMAN script much of the radio buttons are unnecessary but I chose Full Backup and Use as the base of an incremental backup strategyas the type and, under Advanced, I chose Also back up all archived logs on disk. Your choices should be made according to your organizational needs. I chose Online for backup mode. Click Next
  • Choose between Disk or Tape. Click Next. Again, your custom script may override any of these settings.
  • Choose schedule. Choose an appropriate name and job description… For schedule type, I chose Repeating… frequency type weekly… and chose days of week, start time, and repeat until indefinite. The schedule can be changed later as your organizational needs change. This is one of my favorite perks of this feature. Click Next
  • Review your settings. This should reflect the configuration script you ran earlier…
  • In the lower right of the page, click on Edit RMAN Script. If you choose to use OEM’s custom script, you can click submit and you are done.
  • Insert your custom made RMAN Script. I used custom scripts for all of my backup jobs, including my Crosscheck jobs. The reason for this is the tool doesn’t allow for a “custom” crosscheck script. I like to delete expired and obsolete backups from my crosscheck jobs. **This custom script should be reusable for all of your databases that employ a similar backup strategy.**
  • Click Submit Job.
  • From here you can look at the job and its schedule or you can go back to the Availability section and view all of your scheduled RMAN jobs.

Questions???

Comments???

Note:  Timothy J Gormanassisted in the creation of the RMAN Configuration script so that I could use database name and server name as variables. This way, the script could be run once for each database.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

